#motHERHOODpopup ♦ May 20, 2017

herhood

Mother’s Day is already a month away!  Depending on how you celebrate this special day, you are either honoring your mom on Wednesday, May 10 if you celebrate Mexico’s Mother Day and/or Sunday, May 14.  Mother’s Day has always been a special day growing up because I have an AMAZING mama (she is my best friend).  Thankfully, I have grown up with many other powerful moms and today, they all continue to teach and guide me to be the best person and mother that I can be.  Now, that I am a proud mama to Sofia Luna (3 years old); I have gained a whole new respect and appreciation for the mothers of the world!  It also allowed me to see my own mother and suegra (mother in law) in a whole new light. If you are fortunate enough to have a positive relationship with your own mother and/or mother-in law, then you know how becoming a parent yourself will make you love her even more.  [Stay tuned for a blog more on that later].
mamas
Preggo Memory : My Baby Shower                                                             (mi suegra, Rosa Irma on the left and my mom, Gracie on the right)   Santa Monica, CA

The concept of Mi Reina Mobile Boutique launched after I  experienced motherhood. The feelings of both love and terror over raising a little person, without an instruction manual, are powerful.   Everyone tells you how much your life will change after having a baby. And it does. One of the hardest parts of being a parent is the worry that you are not doing this role correctly.  Self-doubt and  criticism are always there.  As a mother, you put your babies’ needs before yours and along the way, you have to adjust to this new lifestyle called “motherhood.”

16229736_10105755504928882_2087191997_o
The day I claimed a new ‘hood…MOTHERHOOD!  Sofia Luna 1.22.14
Often, you “lose” things you didn’t know you had; things you use to take for granted, like going someplace with no purpose (aka the mall) or socialize with other adults.   The “little things”, things you never knew you would miss because no one told you that you might not do them very often again.  The adjustment was often confusing and difficult for me because I am always on the move.  I also became isolated and irritable and tried to adjust to my new role of motherhood.   Today, I am still learning and adjusting.

Here are my two main adjustments and how Mi Reina Mobile Boutique can help:

1.) Going to places with no purpose
It was not impossible for me to get up and take a drive to the nearest mall, but just the thought of me getting in the car with a then newborn bothered me.  Going shopping became more of a chore rather than something I enjoyed and looked forward to.   I yearned for a more intimate setting and for someone to help assist me with the shopping process.  I also was looking for a retail employee to keep it real with me and let me know what clothes flattered my body; rather than what would sell off the rack.
17857428_10106078171357772_1803239490_n
Shopping can become overwhelming!
♦ Driving with a purpose!

Today, Mi Reina Mobile Boutique can now travel with a purpose!  If you are in the Tucson area and would like to host a private pop-up, check this out! On selected dates, you can book us and we will bring a unique and fun shopping experience straight to you!

We help make shopping easy and convenient by pulling into your driveway, parking lot or outdoor area.  This is great for Girl’s Nights, Moms on the Go, Bridal Showers, Birthdays and more!  We are currently serving the Greater Tucson area but will make exceptions for large parties and/or events.  This service is free to you! However, you must have a minimum of ten guests present.  Hostess will receive 10% of all sales in merchandise or 10% of all sales will be donating to a local non-profit of your choice.
2.) Socializing with other adults
 I also missed the conversations I had with my close friends (in my age bracket).  Becoming a mom, meant that I was no longer on the same time zone as the rest of the world.  I was on my babies’ time.  So, trying to organize a girl’s night and trying to schedule a timeframe with other busy women soon became more work than I could imagine!   Thus, I reconnected with my mobile boutique vision after becoming a busy mama.   Having Sofia Luna intensified this vision and motivated me to push forward with my mobile boutique concept.
viva3
Keep an eye out for Mi Reina; popping up around town!
♦ (re) Connecting Through Pop-Ups + Reactivating Spaces!
Today, Mi Reina Mobile Boutique is POPPING up all over town, specifically in the south and southwest side of town.  I knew that I wanted to reactivate spaces that have historically been neglected and/or vacant. I wanted to see what beauty could grow from having pop-ups.   Our hope is to (re) connect with as many folks as possible through our events and pop-ups.   Our next event will showcase and celebrate mothers from Tucson.  In honor of Mother’s Day, the Microbusiness Advancement Center (MAC) and Mi Reina Mobile Boutique are hosting the first ever motHERHOOD Pop-Up!
unnamed
You are invited to come spend the day with us for a day of family fun, inspiration and to (re) connect with other moms, nanas, tias, cousins and friends at the House Of Neighborly Service (HNS) on Saturday, May 20, 2017 from 9:00 am until 2:00 pm. This free event will include a personal health & wellness workout, beauty touch-ups, beats, drinks and eats, local and small businesses and much, much more! So get ready to shop, support and have a good time!
There will also be an opportunity for you to give back to the community by donating to the Period Project. You can participate by donating tampons, pads and reusable menstrual cups to women and girls in need.
HOPE TO SEE YOU THERE!
#motHERHOODpopup

 

Author: mireinaboutique

Mi Reina Mobile Boutique is the most unique and innovative way to shop for clothes and accessories in Tucson and Southern Arizona. “Mi Reina” is in the process of becoming a fully renovated vintage trailer that offers more than fashion. Mi Reina’s goal is to make every person who visits the 1961 Siesta Liner to leave away feeling like a queen, inside and out. Every reina, or queen deserves to feel beautiful. Mi Reina Mobile Boutique made its debut in Fall 2016.

Leave a Reply

