#visionwithus in 2017

“Yesterday is gone. Tomorrow has not yet come. We have only today. Let us begin.”

-Mother Teresa

There is something awesome and magical about a New Year. For a cynic, a New Year is just another day. But for an optimist, the New Year represents the birth of hope. For me, a New Year brings a recharge or reset of my goals and visions for the year ahead.  It represents a challenge.  I am a person who comprehends better when I see visions and imagery on paper.  Hence, why I LOVE VISION BOARDS.   A vision board is a tool used to help clarify, concentrate and maintain focus on a specific life goal. A vision board can be any size of board on which you display images that represent whatever you want to be, do or have in your life.  Pictures and images of words are a great way of anchoring our beliefs and directions.  Vision Boards must be displayed somewhere you can see it every day, as a daily reminder of your dreams and aspirations.

I have participated and facilitated vision board workshops for the past decade through community non-profits.  However, it wasn’t until I had my daughter that I  truly begin to appreciate the power of a vision board.  My daughter, Sofia Luna was born on January 22, 2014.  This day was the start of a new life for me and a brand new identity.  I was no longer the same Selina. So who was I?  I struggled and juggled my new role(s).  When her first birthday rolled around, I decided what a perfect time to do a vision board.  I had my first year of motherhood under my belt and a new year was on the horizon.  So, at the end of December 2014 I held a small gathering of family and friends to partake in a vision board + Christmas party with me.  We made vision boards together and it was a fun way to reconnect and to learn more about one another.  In January 2015, I hung up my small vision board with pride and looked at it while I exercised in my garage.  Part of my main vision in 2015 was to feel healthier physically, emotionally and spiritually not just for myself, but for my family as well.

15696894_10105623744767302_311546843_o
2015 vision board on the left and 2016 vision board on the right.                                                        My goals and visions were BIGGER this year! 

 

When 2015 came to an end, I decided to keep my visions going and make another board for 2016.  As you can tell by the photo above, my visions were grander in 2016.  This was a testament of how my confidence and mindset grew this past year. I felt fearless in myself and as a mother. When making my 2016 board, I decided to invite a few of my friends here in Los Angeles. It was a smaller gathering than the year before (4 of us total), so at the end of the process we decided to each go on a social outing together as a group. And in 2016, we did!  Having fun was all of our goals. We went on several hikes together, danced and had a wine night.  It was neat to see how our visions became reality. My main goal has always been to continue to dream and start a side venture; something my whole family can participate in.  When looking at my board, I noticed something that stood out in a big way.   If you can see in my 2016 board, I cut out to “Start a blog.” When I pasted those words on my board, I didn’t really think that I would start a blog.  It was just always something I wanted to do.  I am so glad I did. I love to document and look back in my life and reflect. I also wanted to keep a blog so my daughter, nieces and cousins can look back and read about Mi Reina’s adventure when they are old enough.  I am also able to document Mi Reina Mobile Boutique’s journey through having a blog.  I am glad YOU are here to join us for the ride! 🙂

Now…in 2017!!!

Last December, I told myself that I wanted to return back to my hometown of Tucson and conduct a vision board party for 2017. I didn’t know what it would entail; I just knew in my heart that it was something I wanted to do. When Mi Reina Mobile Boutique launched, I knew my first workshop would be a Vision Board Party.  Mi Reina Mobile Boutique is more than fashion.  In order to feel radiant, you must feel beautiful inside.  Mi Reina Mobile Boutique will be hosting several events and workshops that will hopefully empower and inspire people and geographic areas that are often overlooked.  Areas where I grew up.

15696592_10105623131750792_1781300656_o

On December 19, 2016, with the help of my cousin, Marcy Rodriguez (@marcy_the_aesthetican) we held our first Vision Board Party for 25 people at Little Mexico Steakhouse (http://littlemexico-tucson.com).  When I shared the info on Eventbrite, I told my husband that “I just hope at least 5 people show up.”  I was wrong. We actually sold out and had to turn several people away because the room was full. Our Vision Board Party was a success! I was able to share this vision board experience with my Tucson community and I met new people that I hope to stay connected to for years to come.  I am excited to hear and see how each of their visions will manifest this year and beyond.  The power was not in the vision board itself, but the power was in what we will do to make our visions into reality! Come #visionwithus in 2017!

 

Author: mireinaboutique

Mi Reina Mobile Boutique is the most unique and innovative way to shop for clothes and accessories in Tucson and Southern Arizona. “Mi Reina” is in the process of becoming a fully renovated vintage trailer that offers more than fashion. Mi Reina’s goal is to make every person who visits the 1961 Siesta Liner to leave away feeling like a queen, inside and out. Every reina, or queen deserves to feel beautiful. Mi Reina Mobile Boutique made its debut in Fall 2016.

Leave a Reply

