What’s new with Mi Reina?

The countdown to Mi Reina Mobile Boutique is on!!! Our BIG DEBUT is on November 26th at the Pop-Up Holiday Market on Tucson’s southside.  So, we have been pretty busy with the small and big details!

A few people have asked me, “What is a mobile boutique?”  Mobile Boutiques are also known as “fashion trucks” and are located throughout the country.  Mobile boutiques are like food trucks but instead of selling food, they are selling items like clothing (new and/or vintage), accessories and whatever else the owner of the mobile boutique wants to sell.  For now, Mi Reina Mobile Boutique will focus on affordable, trendy, stylish fashion choices: clothes, accessories, purses, and other products that help women feel like their inner queen. Mi Reina’s goal is to make every person who visits the 1961 Siesta Liner to leave away feeling like a queen, inside and out.

Before beginning the restoration process, I went on Pinterest to gain some visual inspiration (I love Pinterest). Take a look at some of my pins:

a21674b686ce38ea69736f80b9bdedbd

Now, let me feel you in on the latest with what’s new with Mi Reina Mobile Boutique. Let me take you straight to the source, my dad who is working day and night on the vintage trailer. Below are some Q&A with my dad, Rene Rodriguez:

1.) Can you tell me a little about what you are doing?

Right now I am working on the inside of the trailer, which includes the electrical, insulation, wood paneling, the floor and hooking up all the lights for the trailer. Basically, just trying to finish the small stuff.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The paint job in the exterior is done. We just need to finish the front and inside. We’re trying to leave the original details from the 1961 Siesta Liner trailer because it looks nice and that is the way it came.

img_7970img_8303

img_8049img_8304

2.) What did you envision for this trailer before we dreamt about the mobile boutique idea?

My vision was to not only restore the trailer, but completing my original project of restoring a 1957 Chevy Truck. I envisioned pulling the trailer with the truck from Tucson to Los Angeles and parking it right next to Doc Weiler Beach and having Selina, Abraham and Sofia Luna join us for a carne asada. I always wanted to do this. Something from my bucket list!

img_7633

 

When my daughter Selina presented this idea; I could see her enthusiasm. I kept watching videos on YouTube on how to ‘restore vintage trailers’. I came across a man, Rudy Hernandez who was the one closest to our vintage trailer. His videos are very detailed and provide insight from point A to Z. He inspired me to get started.

4.) Tell me about the village (of handymen and handywomen) who are helping you out?

The people who are helping me out are friends of mine. Each one is knowledgable about a trade, like painting, electrical and metal fabrication. Each of them have come at the perfect time and are in awe of the process. And your mom has been documenting the process: taking photos and videos.

img_8013img_7811img_7352img_8735

fullsizerender-4-copyimg_7355img_7345-copy

5.) Have you done anything like this before?

Never. But before I started the trailer, I was working on the truck. Both have been ongoing projects of mine for the last year.

6.) What are you most excited for when you are done renovating the vintage trailer?

Watching you, Selina sell products out of it and seeing the smile on your face.

7.) Any plans to continue this type of work?

It’s a lot of work. We’ll see what lies in the future.

8.) Anything else you would like to add?

It has been an enjoyable restoration process on the trailer because my family and friends have been involved with it. Can’t wait to see Mi Reina in action!

dad

d754067b6aba81098fb657cc4969ff02

 

 

Author: mireinaboutique

Mi Reina Mobile Boutique is the most unique and innovative way to shop for clothes and accessories in Tucson and Southern Arizona. “Mi Reina” is in the process of becoming a fully renovated vintage trailer that offers more than fashion. Mi Reina’s goal is to make every person who visits the 1961 Siesta Liner to leave away feeling like a queen, inside and out. Every reina, or queen deserves to feel beautiful. Mi Reina Mobile Boutique made its debut in Fall 2016.

Leave a Reply

